You can find out how St Gerard’s has performed during recent assessment periods by viewing or downloading the document at the end of this page.

End of Key Stage Measurements

Read on for an explanation of each stage that the children are tested/assessed at.

Good level of development in EYFS

Defining a Good Level of Development (GLD)

From 2013, children will be defined as having reached a GLD at the end of the EYFS if they achieve at least the expected level in:

  • the Early Learning Goals (ELG) in the prime areas of learning (personal, social and emotional development; physical development; and communication and language) and;
  • the ELGs in the specific areas of mathematics and literacy.
  • In total there are 12 ELGs within the GLD

Phonics Year One

The check will take place in June when your child will read 40 words out loud to a teacher. You’ll find out how your child did, and their teacher will assess whether he or she needs extra help with reading. If your child doesn’t meet the standard, they will resit the test in Year 2.

End of Key Stage One

Key stage 1 tasks and tests cover:

  • reading
  • writing
  • speaking and listening
  • maths
  • science

The tasks and tests are taken in May.

Your child’s teacher will use the child’s work (including spoken work and homework) to work out what level your child is at in each area.

End of Key Stage Two

Key stage 2 tests cover:

  • English reading
  • English grammar, punctuation and spelling
  • English writing (Teacher assessed)
  • Maths (including mental arithmetic)

The tests are taken in mid-May and last under 5 hours 30 minutes in total. You’ll get the results in July.


To compare our school’s performance against that of other schools, click here.